GSLDS Member Dentists Drs. Hahn & Lenahan Named 10 Under 10 Award Recipients

New dentists honored for their work in advocacy, leadership, philanthropy, education     

The ADA announced March 16 the recipients of its annual 10 Under 10 Awards, which recognizes 10 new dentists who demonstrate excellence early in their careers.

Selected by the ADA New Dentist Committee from more than 100 nominations, the recipients represent the future of the dental profession, said Alex Mellion, D.M.D., chair of the Subcommittee on New Dentist Engagement, which recommended the winners. Nominees and winners had to be active ADA members who graduated between 2011 and 2020.

“These 10 recipients all displayed unique and amazing characteristics that stood out, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic,” Dr. Mellion said. “Many of these recipients have been ongoing leaders within their respective communities. Their unique stories and achievements touch on so many different areas, from personal success, leadership in organized dentistry and outstanding research initiatives.”

Emily Hahn, D.D.S., of St. Louis. Dr. Hahn is the owner of Skyview Pediatric Dentistry and a pediatric dentist at the St. Louis Children’s Hospital. She holds leadership roles with the Greater St. Louis Dental Society, the board of directors for the West County District, the Missouri Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and the Missouri Dental Association. Dr. Hahn also works with the Special Olympics as the Missouri Special Smiles clinical director.

Megan Lenahan, D.D.S., of Rock Hill, Missouri. Dr. Lenahan is a pediatric dentist at Lenahan Smiles Pediatric Dentistry. Recognized in 2020 by the Missouri Dental Association as its 2020 Outstanding New Dental Leader, Dr. Lenahan currently serves on the Greater St. Louis Dental Society’s executive board and is a member of the Missouri Emergency Response Identification team.